Save Face To Release New Album 'Another Kill For The Highlight Reel' On October 29

Save Face To Release New Album 'Another Kill For The Highlight Reel' On October 29

"This is the soundtrack of me killing my enemies." Those are the exact words that start the liner notes to Another Kill For The Highlight Reel, the highly-anticipated new album from New Jersey punks Save Face, out everywhere October 29 from Epitaph Records

Led by vocalist Tyler Povanda (he/him), the band leans far into the depths of the eccentric––an obvious take from one viewing of last month's "GLITTER." Best part? They've got the unabashed confidence to pull it off, too. 
Produced by The Movielife's Brett Romnes, Another Kill For The Highlight Reel finds Povanda's songwriting, lyrical, and conceptual skills at an all-time high––he even makes his directorial debut in a tripped-out video for their new song "Bury Me (Tonight!)," out today. 

"The goal of the video was to put you in the world of the album. I wanted a visual component that tied in all of the iconographies from the album to make this immersive feeling when paired with the song," Tyler explains. "I was having a really hard time finding a director who was available to take on the project, so as the deadline approached I ended up having to just write out the treatment and direct it myself. This is what I saw when I wrote these songs." 

Elsewhere on the record, the eccentric frontperson draws influence from his Jersey brethren like Thursday (Geoff Rickley actually sings on "A.M. Gothic"), but adds a theatrical bent that's rooted in his love of musicals like Sweeney Todd, West Side Story, Rocky Horror Picture Show, Dear Evan Hansen, and more. It's clear that this record is much more interested in building worlds around itself than it is in adhering to any genre conventions or expectations. 

“I’m just trying to make something that’s interesting to me, despite whether anyone likes it or hates it," Tyler explains.  

The spirit of art for art’s sake is what truly lies at the core of their ethos. “If you’re going to make art, you have to be willing to have your spirit crushed, and I have repeatedly," Tyler admits. "But in that, I made the best thing I ever have." 
“It can be hard to reconcile the fact that we live in a world where we’re taught that the validation of your art determines its worth," he continues. "The only thing that makes it worth it is creating something that is so inspiring to you that it feels like it’s worth the struggle to put it out into the world—and that’s what these songs did for me.” 

That drive to keep pushing through discomfort is evident on this album and is what makes the collection of songs on Another Kill For The Highlight Reel as cathartic as they are catchy.  

Another Kill For The Highlight Reel Tracklist 

  1. The Funeral You've Been Asking For Curse Me Out 

  2. Another Kill For The Highlight Reel 

  3. Bury Me (Tonight!) 

  1. Sharpen Your Teeth 

  1. A Song For Your Futile Heart 


  1. The Perks Of Not Being Able To See Your Reflection 

  1. A.M. Gothic 

  1. Watch You Die Again 

  1. Please Murder Me