Punk legend Tim Armstrong has announced plans to give his debut solo album, A Poet's Life, away for free on the internet beginning April 17th. Each Tuesday fans are encouraged to hunt down new songs and videos that will be made available for download on various blogs, sites and social networks. Additionally the album will also be available for sale on May 22nd with a bonus DVD containing 10 new videos.

"The idea behind this record was that I wanted people to have it for free as a thank-you to all of those who have supported me and Rancid over the years," Armstrong says.

Backed by The Aggrolites, a notorious dirty reggae act from Armstrong's own Hellcat stable, A Poet's Life showcases the passion for punk, reggae and ska that has infused Armstrong's music from his earliest work with Operation Ivy to his most recent Rancid album. The debut features ten body-grooving tracks including the propulsive dance single 'Into Action' and the upbeat summertime sensation 'Hold On.'

Armstrong approached his solo debut in complete DIY fashion by recording and producing A Poet's Life entirely by himself. The project began last summer when he decided that it was time to show his fans some love with a free album. The Rancid frontman wrote and released the first two songs 'hold On' and 'Wake Up' on the internet for free that fall. Over the course of the next several months Armstrong recorded the remainder of his album all while creating new videos for each song.

Never a stranger to having his music suddenly and widely embraced, as evidenced by the hit songs Armstrong has created for both Rancid and his side-project the Transplants, by March it was clear that the iconic singer/songwriter had another bona fide hit with the track "Into Action." The undeniably catchy dance song became a instant favorite of fans and critics alike, with support from everyone from Myspace users to the influential LA radio stations KROQ and Indie 103.1. Continuing to sweep the nation with its infectious groove, "Into Action" is guaranteed to be blasting from every car stereo and beach boom box this summer.

Be the first one to find hot new songs and videos each Tuesday!

Track Listing:

1. "Wake Up"
2. "Hold On"
3. "Into Action"
4. "Translator"
5. "Take This City"
6. "Inner City Violence"
7. "Oh No"
8. "Lady Demeter"
9. "Among The Dead"
10. "Cold Blooded"

For More Information: