Contact Info

EPITAPH LOS ANGELES

2798 Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90026
Phone: 213-355-5000


EPITAPH JOB BOARD

Visit http://epitaph.force.com/jobs to view open positions.

Anti Publicity

Hilary Okun
publicity@anti.com

Retail

Jon Strickland
Melissa Cohen
retail@epitaph.com

Marketing

Matt McGreevey
matt@epitaph.com

Marketing

Adam LaRue
adam@epitaph.com

Tour Marketing

Felicia Risolo
felicia@epitaph.com

Epitaph Publicity

Christine Morales
christine@epitaph.com

Tour Publicity

Michele Stephens
michele@epitaph.com

Music Licensing

Hector Martinez
hector@epitaph.com

Radio Promotions - Anti

Krystal Pistol
radio@epitaph.com

Radio Promotions - Epitaph

Brett Greenberg
BGreen@epitaph.com

Social Media Marketing

Veronica Reynolds
veronica@epitaph.com

e

EPITAPH EUROPE

Studio Korte Leidse, Korte Leidse Dwarstraat 12 / Unit 211, 1017 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone: +31 (20) 550-3838

Music Licensing

Roger
roger@epitaph.com

Marketing

Roger
roger@epitaph.com

Promotion Manager

Alma
alma@epitaph.com

Publicity

Chantal
chantal@epitaph.com

Accounts

MJ
mj@epitaph.com

e

EPITAPH CANADA

366 Adelaide Street East, Suite 432, Toronto, Ontario M5A 3X9, Canada
Phone: +1 (416) 868-4848

Canadian Publicity

Tonni Maruyama
canada@epitaph.com



  Epitaph > Press Search > The Menzingers Announce New Album


TUESDAY FEBRUARY 18, 2014

The Menzingers

The Menzingers Announce New Album

Philadelphia-based band The Menzingers will release their new album Rented World on April 22 via Epitaph Records. Rented World is the fourth studio release for the band and the follow-up to their critically-applauded album On The Impossible Past (2012).

Listen to a new track off Rented World and watch the video for "In Remission" by visiting NOISEY.

"In Remission" is the first track from the new album, and one where the band observes, "Maybe the future's just a little bit weird"; a statement that sets the tone of Rented World.

The Rust Belt punks are in a crucial period of growth. Now in their mid-20s, members Greg Barnett (guitar/vocals), Tom May (guitar/vocals), Eric Keen (bass), and Joe Godino (drums), seek a greater wisdom in life, even if they are old enough to know better. A theme that strongly permeates throughout the album.

"Things start to feel a little more serious," said May. "When we were younger we wrote fiery songs because at that age it's your world view. Now I look at the world and think 'well, maybe I'm not right all the time.'"

Another change for the former Scranton, Pennsylvania housemates is their studio location. They entered Miner Street Studio for the first time in Fishtown, Philly in the fall of 2013. Jonathan Low, whose rich Americana influences can be heard on his work with The National, Sharon Van Etten, and Kurt Vile was enlisted to engineer the album. When writing the new material, the band recognized their shifts in their craft, shifts they knew would best be handled by Low. “We wanted to go to somebody who wasn't used to recording punk records, though it wasn't in a pretentious way, like we wanted to become an indie rock band," stated May.

The end result is an album that fearlessly collides the snarl of emo with grungy, 90s grit and exploring the celestial expanse of post-rock. It's slightly new territory for a band coping with their mid-20s. And lyrically touches on matters that any red blooded human of that age can relate to.

Fans are invited to pre-order Rented World by visiting: The Menzingers Store. Those who missed the band on their recent US dates with label mates Off With Their Heads can expect future tour plans to be announced for later in the year.
Printer-Friendly VersionSend this ArticleBookmark This

e