Contact Info

EPITAPH LOS ANGELES

2798 Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90026
Phone: 213-355-5000


EPITAPH JOB BOARD

Visit http://epitaph.force.com/jobs to view open positions.

Anti Publicity

Hilary Okun
publicity@anti.com

Retail

Jon Strickland
Melissa Cohen
retail@epitaph.com

Marketing

Matt McGreevey
matt@epitaph.com

Marketing

Adam LaRue
adam@epitaph.com

Tour Marketing

Felicia Risolo
felicia@epitaph.com

Epitaph Publicity

Christine Morales
christine@epitaph.com

Tour Publicity

Michele Stephens
michele@epitaph.com

Music Licensing

Hector Martinez
hector@epitaph.com

Radio Promotions - Anti

Krystal Pistol
radio@epitaph.com

Radio Promotions - Epitaph

Brett Greenberg
BGreen@epitaph.com

Social Media Marketing

Veronica Reynolds
veronica@epitaph.com

e

EPITAPH EUROPE

Studio Korte Leidse, Korte Leidse Dwarstraat 12 / Unit 211, 1017 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone: +31 (20) 550-3838

Music Licensing

Roger
roger@epitaph.com

Marketing

Roger
roger@epitaph.com

Promotion Manager

Alma
alma@epitaph.com

Publicity

Chantal
chantal@epitaph.com

Accounts

MJ
mj@epitaph.com

e

EPITAPH CANADA

366 Adelaide Street East, Suite 432, Toronto, Ontario M5A 3X9, Canada
Phone: +1 (416) 868-4848

Canadian Publicity

Tonni Maruyama
canada@epitaph.com



  Epitaph > Press Search > The Lawrence Arms' New Album Metropole Is Out Today


TUESDAY JANUARY 28, 2014

The Lawrence Arms

The Lawrence Arms' New Album Metropole Is Out Today

The first new album in 8 years from Chicago-bred trio The Lawrence Arms, Metropole, is out today on Epitaph Records.

This is the band's sixth studio release and most dynamic to date. An album partially inspired by and loosely structured after late-90's/early 2000's hip-hop records – a particular favorite being Outkast's Aquemini. With close listen, sound samples are heard throughout the album. They're recordings of street musicians, captured by the band on their cell phones. A horn played by a man on his back on the middle of the road, so drunk he couldn't even see. Or faint piano sounds, that was a grand piano someone was playing in the middle of the street. Everything from accordion to bagpipes help capture the urban isolation, the "stranger-in-a-strange-land kind of shit," that saturates so much of the record according to Kelly.

Metropole also sees core members Brendan Kelly (vocals/bass) and Chris McCaughan (vocals/guitar) exploring a newfound love for storytelling through songwriting. Take the bravely personal lyrics of "Seventeener (17th and 37th)" "I never / Wanted to die old / But it’s too late now / My heart has grown so cold". Or on "Never Fade Away" with "Don’t know where I’m headed / But I know where I’ve been". But the band hasn’t grown too serious over time, with song titles like "Paradise Shitty" and "Drunk Tweets", fans are assured that the Lawrence Arms are still the masters of juvenile humor.

Metropole is available for purchase now by visiting: iTunes or the Epitaph Store. Fans are invited to catch The Lawrence Arms on their long-anticipated US headlining tour this February and March. Tickets are on-sale now and moving fast.

THE LAWRENCE ARMS TOUR DATES

Feb 14 Scottsdale, AZ – Pub Rock Live
Feb 15 San Diego, CA – Casbah
Feb 16 Los Angeles, CA – El Rey
Feb 17 San Francisco, CA – Bottom of the Hill
Feb 19 San Francisco, CA – Bottom of the Hill
Feb 20 Seattle, WA – El Corazon
Feb 21 Portland, OR – Hawthorne Theater
Feb 22 Denver, CO – Summit Music Hall
Mar 03 Cambridge, MA – The Sinclair
Mar 04 Pawtucket, RI – The Met
Mar 05 New York, NY – Gramercy Theatre
Mar 06 Philadelphia, PA – Theatre of the Living Arts
Mar 07 Asbury Park, NJ – Asbury Lanes
Mar 08 Baltimore, MD – Baltimore Soundstage
Printer-Friendly VersionSend this ArticleBookmark This

e