Contact Info

EPITAPH LOS ANGELES

2798 Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90026
Phone: 213-355-5000


EPITAPH JOB BOARD

Visit http://epitaph.force.com/jobs to view open positions.

Anti Publicity

Hilary Okun
publicity@anti.com

Retail

Jon Strickland
Melissa Cohen
retail@epitaph.com

Marketing

Matt McGreevey
matt@epitaph.com

Marketing

Adam LaRue
adam@epitaph.com

Tour Marketing

Felicia Risolo
felicia@epitaph.com

Epitaph Publicity

Christine Morales
christine@epitaph.com

Tour Publicity

Michele Stephens
michele@epitaph.com

Music Licensing

Hector Martinez
hector@epitaph.com

Radio Promotions - Anti

Krystal Pistol
radio@epitaph.com

Radio Promotions - Epitaph

Brett Greenberg
BGreen@epitaph.com

Social Media Marketing

Veronica Reynolds
veronica@epitaph.com

e

EPITAPH EUROPE

Studio Korte Leidse, Korte Leidse Dwarstraat 12 / Unit 211, 1017 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone: +31 (20) 550-3838

Music Licensing

Roger
roger@epitaph.com

Marketing

Roger
roger@epitaph.com

Promotion Manager

Alma
alma@epitaph.com

Publicity

Chantal
chantal@epitaph.com

Accounts

MJ
mj@epitaph.com

e

EPITAPH CANADA

366 Adelaide Street East, Suite 432, Toronto, Ontario M5A 3X9, Canada
Phone: +1 (416) 868-4848

Canadian Publicity

Tonni Maruyama
canada@epitaph.com



  Epitaph > Press Search > The Lawrence Arms Stream New Album At The AV Club


MONDAY JANUARY 20, 2014

The Lawrence Arms

The Lawrence Arms Stream New Album At The AV Club

The Lawrence Arms are streaming their new album Metropole, a week before the January 28 release date at The AV Club. Listen now by visiting The AV Club.

Metropole is the first album in 8 years from the Chicago bred trio. It's a blistery, hook-heavy sound with a lyrical narrative that captures what vocalist/bassist Brendan Kellys calls "that alone-in-a-crowd, stranger-in-a-strange-land kind of shit—a feeling of such weird solitude that you don’t even know what's up and what's down". Brendan Kelly, Chris McCaughan (vocals/guitar), and Neil Hennessey (drums) took their wide range of influences and inspirations from both classic punk/hardcore bands including Jawbreaker, NOFX, Propaghandi, Bad Religion and late-'90s hip hop like Outkast's Aquemini to create their most dynamic record to date. The samples heard throughout the album are sound recordings of street musicians, recorded by the band on their cell phones. Take the horn at the start of "Acheron River" that Kelly describes as "a dude on his back on the middle of the road, so drunk he couldn't even see." Or the piano at the end of "Seventeener (17th and 37th) that was a grand piano someone was playing in the middle of the street. Everything from accordion to bagpipes helps capture the urban isolation that saturates so much of Metropole.

To that end, both McCaughan and Kelly—who asserts that the Lawrence Arms have “never had any agenda apart from just having fun and making good music”—state that the multi-year break between albums ultimately went a long way in refining the band’s vision and sound. “Because of the way we exist as a band, it was important for us to wait until we knew we had something to say that was sharp and pointed and dynamic and incisive,” says Kelly. “And if we didn’t have that, then we’d just rather not make a record, ‘cause fuck it.”

Fans are invited to pre-order Metropole by visiting: http://smarturl.it/Metropoledlx. The Lawrence Arms have also announced a string of long-anticipated US headlining dates. Tickets are on-sale now and moving fast.

THE LAWRENCE ARMS TOUR DATES

Jan 28 Chicago, IL - Reckless Records / Wicker Park (Brendan Kelly acoustic performance)
Feb 14 Scottsdale, AZ – Pub Rock Live
Feb 15 San Diego, CA – Casbah
Feb 16 Los Angeles, CA – El Rey
Feb 17 San Francisco, CA – Bottom of the Hill
Feb 18 San Francisco, CA – Bottom of the Hill
Feb 20 Seattle, WA – El Corazon
Feb 21 Portland, OR – Hawthorne Theater
Feb 22 Denver, CO – Summit Music Hall
Mar 03 Cambridge, MA – The Sinclair
Mar 04 Pawtucket, RI – The Met
Mar 05 New York, NY – Gramercy Theatre
Mar 06 Philadelphia, PA – Theatre of the Living Arts
Mar 07 Asbury Park, NJ – Asbury Lanes
Mar 08 Baltimore, MD – Baltimore Soundstage
Printer-Friendly VersionSend this ArticleBookmark This

e