Contact Info

EPITAPH LOS ANGELES

2798 Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90026
Phone: 213-413-7353


EPITAPH JOB BOARD

Visit http://epitaph.force.com/jobs to view open positions.

Anti Publicity

Hilary Villa
publicity@anti.com

Retail

Jon Strickland
Melissa Cohen
retail@epitaph.com

Marketing

Matt McGreevey
matt@epitaph.com

Marketing

Adam LaRue
adam@epitaph.com

Tour Marketing

Felicia Risolo
felicia@epitaph.com

Epitaph Publicity

Christine Morales
christine@epitaph.com

Tour Publicity

Michele Stephens
michele@epitaph.com

Music Licensing

Hector Martinez
hector@epitaph.com

Radio Promotions - Anti

Krystal Pistol
radio@epitaph.com

Radio Promotions - Epitaph

Brett Greenberg
BGreen@epitaph.com

Social Media Marketing

Veronica Reynolds
veronica@epitaph.com

e

EPITAPH EUROPE

Studio Korte Leidse, Korte Leidse Dwarstraat 12 / Unit 211, 1017 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone: +31 (20) 550-3838

Music Licensing

Roger
roger@epitaph.com

Marketing

Roger
roger@epitaph.com

Promotion Manager

Alma
alma@epitaph.com

Publicity

Chantal
chantal@epitaph.com

Accounts

MJ
mj@epitaph.com

e

EPITAPH CANADA

366 Adelaide Street East, Suite 432, Toronto, Ontario M5A 3X9, Canada
Phone: +1 (416) 868-4848

Canadian Publicity

Tonni Maruyama
canada@epitaph.com



  Epitaph > Press Search > The Lawrence Arms To Release New Album January 18, 2014


MONDAY NOVEMBER 18, 2013

The Lawrence Arms

The Lawrence Arms To Release New Album January 18, 2014

Chicago's own The Lawrence Arms will release Metropole, their first album in eight years, on January 28, 2014 via Epitaph. Visit Noisey to listen to "You Are Here" from the album now.

The Lawrence Arms formed in Chicago in 1999, and members Brendan Kelly (vocals/bassist), Chris McCaughan (vocals/guitar), and Neil Hennessey (drummer) have released five studio albums to date. Their sixth album and first with Epitaph, Metropole, captures “that alone-in-a-crowd, stranger-in-a-strange-land kind of shit—a feeling of such weird solitude that you don’t even know what’s up and what’s down ‘cause you’re so caught in the wake of the city," according to Kelly.

Metropole was recorded at Chicago's Atlas Studios with co-producer Matt Allison who has also worked with Chicago-punk-scene veterans Alkaline Trio. The follow-up to their 2009 Fat Wreck Chords EP Buttsweat and Tears, the new venture takes the band's gritty punk rock and fiery spirit, to reveal a new passion of the band for storytelling-through-songwriting. Take the bravely personal lyrics of "You Are Here" where McCaughan ironically sings "Days just keep rolling on / They won’t miss me when I’m gone / I’m the chorus to that lonely street / Just footsteps fading to a dying beat". But it is clear that after a long hiatus, dedicated fans have missed The Lawrence Arms and are ready for the band's most dynamic album to date.

“When we got going on making the album it felt like we were writing at a different and sort of evolved level, which was really exciting,” notes McCaughan, “It’s like all that time off ended up creating a whole new energy for us.”

Taking time off also helped inspire new creativity as they took inspiration from Fyodor Dostoyevsky’s Crime and Punishment, classic late-‘90s hip-hop like Outkast’s Aquemini, Japanese hardcore bands, and pop songs on the radio. Listeners will notice thoughtful detail as the band takes you through the many moods of Metropole through a series of fragments of street-musician performances that the band members recorded on their phones.

The multi-year break between albums ultimately went a long way in refining the band’s vision and sound. “Because of the way we exist as a band, it was important for us to wait until we knew we had something to say that was sharp and pointed and dynamic and incisive,” says Kelly. “And if we didn’t have that, then we’d just rather not make a record, ‘cause fuck it.”

Catch The Lawrence Arms live in their hometown of Chicago on New Year's Eve, December 31, at Concord Music Hall. Fans are invited to pre-order Metropole at the Epitaph Store.

METROPOLE TRACKLIST

01. Chilean District
02. You Are Here
03. Hickey Avenue
04. Seventeener (17th and 34th)
05. Beautiful Things
06. Acheron River
07. Metropole
08. Drunk Tweets
09. The YMCA Down the Street from the Clinic
10. Never Fade Away
11. Paradise Shitty
12. October Blood

LIVE SHOWS

Dec 31 Chicago, IL – Concord Music Hall
Printer-Friendly VersionSend this ArticleBookmark This

e