Newssearch


Recent Headlines

Monday December 15, 2014

(0)Falling In Reverse Share "God, If You...

Thursday December 11, 2014

(0)Joyce Manor Kick Off December Tour...

Thursday December 4, 2014

(0)The Menzingers Return Home To Headline...

Monday November 17, 2014

(0)The Ghost Inside "Dear Youth" Out Today

Monday November 10, 2014

(0)Sleeping With Sirens Release New Video

Wednesday November 5, 2014

(0)The Ghost Inside Streams Album At Alternative...

Monday November 3, 2014

(0)The Sidekicks Announce New Album

Tuesday October 28, 2014

(0)Pianos Become The Teeth "Keep You"...

Monday October 27, 2014

(0)Rancid's "...Honor Is All We Know"...

Wednesday October 22, 2014

(0)Beautiful Bodies "Invincible" Gets...




  Epitaph > News > News Article


THURSDAY APRIL 5, 2007

Grinderman Gets Rave Reviews In The Montreal Mirror

GRINDERMAN
self-titled (Anti/Mute/FAB)

First off, you should know that Grinderman is the once again pairing of Dirty Three's Warren Ellis and SatanĂ¢??s favourite lounge singer, Nick Cave. Free from the confines of the Bad Seeds, Cave resurrects his Birthday Party howl and, for the most part, gets back to his noise roots while letting his blues get even swampier. Cave dashes all criticism of this being a tossed-off side project by hitting lyrical high points within the Stooges-style punk rock fury. It seems like Cave is really saving his best days for last while doing away with cheap competition, rendering Jon Spencer's entire discography obsolete in just 40 minutes. If you like the Bad Seeds as much as anyone but miss Cave's more nihilistic, stripped-down Birthday Party days, this will absolutely fucking kill you. 9/10 (Johnson Cummins)

Check out the article here: Montreal Mirror

Printer-Friendly Version Send this ArticleBookmark This


User Comments
Post a CommentYou need to be logged in to post comments. Not yet an Epitaph user? Register here!

e