Newssearch


Recent Headlines

Monday December 15, 2014

(0)Falling In Reverse Share "God, If You...

Thursday December 11, 2014

(0)Joyce Manor Kick Off December Tour...

Thursday December 4, 2014

(0)The Menzingers Return Home To Headline...

Monday November 17, 2014

(0)The Ghost Inside "Dear Youth" Out Today

Monday November 10, 2014

(0)Sleeping With Sirens Release New Video

Wednesday November 5, 2014

(0)The Ghost Inside Streams Album At Alternative...

Monday November 3, 2014

(0)The Sidekicks Announce New Album

Tuesday October 28, 2014

(0)Pianos Become The Teeth "Keep You"...

Monday October 27, 2014

(0)Rancid's "...Honor Is All We Know"...

Wednesday October 22, 2014

(0)Beautiful Bodies "Invincible" Gets...




  Epitaph > News > News Article


FRIDAY OCTOBER 13, 2006

Spin.com reviews the new Heavens CD, Patent Pending!

The spawn of punk and goth reaches maturity.

Aging gracefully is tough for pop punks and goths alike: The makeup starts to look silly, for one thing. But Alkaline Trio singer Matt Skiba proves it's possible with Heavens, which imagines the Cure born to the Warped generation. Despite the occasionally cringe-worthy lyrics (arterial spray, guillotines, hearses), the songs are surprisingly tuneful and thoughtful. The title track's bouncing bass, deadpan vocal melodies, and almost quaintly dated '80s keyboards reveal a grown-up kid not quite ready to give up his childhood bloodlust. JOSH MODELL

www.spin.com

Printer-Friendly Version Send this ArticleBookmark This


User Comments
Post a CommentYou need to be logged in to post comments. Not yet an Epitaph user? Register here!

e